Gloucester's Meaningful Meals

Good taste runs in the family

A trip to Venice

1 Comment

My seemingly insatiable appetite (as well as several recommendations) once again brought me to Broadway in Pitman for some delicious family-owned Italian cuisine. This time around I got the chance to visit Venice Italian Eatery and sit down with owner Ron Zold to discuss what he believes sets Venice apart from the flood of Italian restaurants in the Gloucester area. You can listen to some of his thoughts by clicking on the audio player below.

Venice has been established since 2000, but it was not until 2007 that Zold obtained ownership of the restaurant. He immediately did away with the lavender walls and slightly torn carpeting that his predecessor had put in. Zold also canned the idea that the restaurant should limit its potential by marketing itself solely as a pizzeria. They now proudly deem themselves a pizzeria, sit down restaurant and complete catering service. Their renovated dining room area now fits about 60 customers, and Zold hopes to build a room double that size onto the restaurant before the end of February 2013. I put together some shots of the restaurant in a video which you can view below.

Venice’s dining options are separated by room. If you are looking for a quick slice or are waiting to pick up an order, you can relax in one of the homey booths located at the front of the restaurant. If you’re looking for a touch more elegance or choose Venice for your next special event, you will be spending your evening in the cozy yet refined dining room where pizza is not even an option on the menu.

As with all of the great restaurants I have visited thus far, the most intriguing aspects of Venice came less from the environment, and more from the owner behind the wheel. Zold told me about the various ways that Venice gets involved with its community through fundraisers, charities, and giveaways.

“We’ve held a fundraiser for a prosecutor who got cancer. We’ve helped out some groups with disabilities… We just like to give back where we can…” stated Zold. “We’re appreciated in the community because we’re involved in the community.”

I appreciated the genuine nature of the comment. Ron did not feel the need to exaggerate the charitable nature of his restaurant. He simply answered the question presented to him. I truly felt that I was getting to know a friend rather than interviewing a restaurant owner.

As for the food itself, I believe the word “phenomenal” sums it up nicely. I was treated to a meatball sandwich,  a Greek feta stromboli and a panzarotti, commonly referred to as a pizza turnover.

The Greek feta stromboli, which was filled with feta cheese, gyro meat, spinach and tomatoes, was just as huge in size as it was in flavor. It was served to me on a makeshift plate consisting of two circular pizza trays. I would like to formally thank my server for recommending that I get the small. 

The meatball sandwich was made completely by hand, and was comprised of just meatballs and tomato sauce cradled between a delicious roll. Venice was able to turn a dish made with just a few ingredients that I have eaten dozens of times into a weekend staple for me. 

I had never eaten a panzarotti before, so I can’t compare it to any others. However, after tasting this wondrous creation of tomato sauce, fried dough, and mozzarella cheese, I can safely say that it won’t be my last. You can check out a few shots of my feast at the bottom of this post.

I would like to thank Ron for graciously welcoming me into his restaurant, treating me to one of the best meals I’ve tasted since starting this blog and most importantly confirming that the class of a restaurant is not determined by the prices on the menu or the exquisite architecture of the building, but by the genuine nature of the people inside of it. 

Author: Jack Ryan

Jack Ryan is a dedicated features contributor at Invisible Gamer among various other online outlets and positions. When he's not out vanquishing bad guys and saving democracy by reporting on gaming-related issues, he can often be found in his room buying stupid things online and immediately regretting the decision. Follow him on his new Twitter @Not_the_movie and help him take his mind off of it.

One thought on “A trip to Venice

  1. Pingback: So long for now « Gloucester's Meaningful Meals

Leave a comment